APS News Release

Wakefield Education Foundation Announces Scholarship Recipients

Wakefield Education Foundation Announces Scholarship Recipients The Wakefield High School Education Foundation announced its scholarship recipients yesterday. This year, the Wakefield Education Foundation awarded 24 scholarships totaling $145,500. The Foundation has granted 321 scholarships and teacher grants totaling $1,668,669 since 1986. The 69 applications were reviewed by staff and Wakefield alumni. This year, the Foundation increased the amount of the scholarships to $10,000 for students attending four-year colleges and $4,000 for students attending Northern Virginia Community College. The scholarships awardees are: $10,000 Scholarships

  • Daniel Brown
  • Ariel Cadby-Spicer
  • Sivia Campos
  • Kevin Clark
  • John “Jack” Dobbins Jr
  • Brooke Shannon Giles
  • Emily Hambridge
  • Angela Jaramillo
  • Chloe-Alexandra Laird
  • Richard Matthew Samonte Tan
  • Gerber Reyes

$5,000 Scholarship

  • Leo Biette-Timmons

$4,000 Scholarships

  • Andrea Petretti
  • Alvaro Sejas-Gamboa
  • Masud Haque
  • Jessica Portillo
  • Rodrigo Balderrama

$4,000 Scholarships were also given to Yuan Zhai (Class of 2011) and Nicole Stephanie Plaza (Class of 2012) who were NOVA Scholars in the past and are transferring to four-year colleges to complete their undergraduate degree. The following students met all the criteria and were selected to be Wakefield Scholars. Because they have been awarded significant funding from other sources, they will be honored and recognized with a one-time grant of $500.

  • Ashley Lemus
  • Raquel Marriott
  • Yoel Fessahaye
  • Leyla J Izquierdo
  • Tesay Yusuf

For more information about the scholarship program or the Foundation, email information@wakefieldalumni.org.