APS News Release

Summary of May 12 School Board Meeting

May 12 School Board meeting summary.

Action Items:
The School Board approved the following items:

The Board approved the following appointments:

  • Jeannette Allen – Director of Secondary Education
  • Tyrone Byrd – Director of Diversity, Equity and inclusion
  • Laurel Cerrud – Assistant Principal, Oakridge Elementary School
  • Yvonne Dangerfield – Outdoor Lab Administrator
  • Latisha Ellis – Assistant Principal, Williamsburg Middle School
  • Scott McKeown – Assistant Principal, Swanson Middle School
  • Crystal Moore – Assistant Principal, Dorothy Hamm Middle School
  • Laura Porter – Assistant Principal, Yorktown High School
  • Erika Sanchez – Assistant Principal, Escuela Key Elementary School
  • Inga Schoenbrun – Assistant Principal, Arlington Traditional School

Information Items:

Next School Board Meeting:
The School Board will hold its next regular meeting (2110 Washington Blvd.) on Thu., May 26 at 7 p.m. The agenda will be posted one week before the meeting on BoardDocs.

For More Information:
Community members who want to comment on any items discussed at the School Board meeting should email the Board at school.board@apsva.us or call 703-228-6015.School Board meetings are also broadcast live on Comcast Cable Channel 70 and Verizon Fios Channel 41; live-streamed on the APS website, and re-broadcast on Fridays at 9 p.m. and Mondays at 7:30 p.m. immediately following the meeting. All materials and minutes will be posted to the website at aps2016.apsva.us/schoolboard upon School Board approval at a subsequent meeting.