APS News Release

School Board Selects 2019 Honored Citizens

Every year, community members spend countless hours volunteering in Arlington Schools, supporting our students and staff. The Arlington School Board recognizes this commitment and appreciates the efforts of all volunteers.

In 1975, the Board established the Honored Citizen Award to recognize special volunteers who have made extraordinary contributions to Arlington Public Schools. These dedicated individuals participate in a wide variety of school activities, demonstrating a sustained commitment to APS of at least five years.

For 2019, the School Board has named 12 outstanding volunteers as Honored Citizens. The Board will celebrate these individuals at a special event on May 23 at the Syphax Education Center, 2110 Washington Blvd, 2nd floor.  A reception will be held at 6:30 p.m. followed by a recognition ceremony at 7 p.m.

This year’s Honored Citizens are:

John Adair
Thomas Jefferson Middle School – Community Garden

Gladys Buendia
Barrett Elementary School, Kenmore Middle School

Melvi Gomez
Claremont and Henry Elementary Schools, Gunston Middle School

Mercedes Juarez Chaclan
Campbell Elementary School, Kenmore Middle School

Rabia Oubenadi
Arlington Science Focus, Williamsburg Middle, Yorktown High School

Donna Owens
Yorktown High School, Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee, Dyslexia Task Force

Tom Patchen
Oakridge Elementary, Gunston Middle School

Debra Pearson
Taylor Elementary, Williamsburg Middle, Dorothy Hamm Middle School (BLPC member and incoming PTA President)

Karen Perrote
Ashlawn Elementary, Kenmore Middle, Washington-Lee High School

Meredith Purple
Nottingham Elementary, Williamsburg Middle, Yorktown High School, ACI

Melissa Schwaber Hawkins
Claremont Elementary, Henry Elementary, Gunston Middle School

Evan Thomas
Drew Model School

To learn more about APS Honored Citizens, visit aps2016.apsva.us/honoredcitizens