APS News Release

School Board Selects 2017 Honored Citizens

Every year, community members spend countless hours volunteering in Arlington Schools, supporting both our students and our staff. The Arlington School Board recognizes this commitment and appreciates the efforts of all of our volunteers. In 1975, the Board established the Honored Citizen Award to recognize special volunteers who have made extraordinary contributions to Arlington Public Schools. These dedicated individuals participate in a wide variety of school activities, demonstrating a sustained commitment to APS of at least five years.

For 2017, the School Board has named 12 outstanding volunteers as Honored Citizens. The Board will celebrate these individuals at a special event on April 20 at the Arlington Education Center, 1426 N. Quincy Street. A reception will be held at 6:30 p.m. followed by a recognition ceremony at 7 p.m.

This year’s Honored Citizens are:

  • Nancy Birnbaum – Barrett Elementary School, Kenmore Middle School, Yorktown High School
  • Jim Coates – Yorktown High School
  • Nancy Davis – Carlin Springs Elementary School
  • Lee Dioso – Ashlawn Elementary School, Kenmore Middle School, Washington-Lee High School
  • Susan DuBois – Barcroft Elementary School, Jefferson Middle School, Wakefield High School
  • Kia Haynes – Drew Model School, H-B Woodlawn
  • Chips and Priscilla Johnson – Yorktown High School
  • Mackenzie Kearney – Claremont Immersion, Williamsburg Middle School, Yorktown High School
  • Kelly Maguire – Patrick Henry and Carlin Springs elementary schools, Jefferson Middle School
  • Mary Smaragdis – Long Branch Elementary School, Jefferson Middle School, Washington-Lee and Wakefield high schools
  • James Smith – Hoffman-Boston Elementary School, Elimination of the Achievement Gap Committee, Arlington Special Education Advisory Committee

To learn more about APS Honored Citizens, visit aps2016.apsva.us/honoredcitizens.