APS News Release

Five Seniors Earn National Merit $2,500 Scholarship

This week, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced that five seniors have earned $2,500 scholarships through the National Merit Scholarship Program.

Washington-Lee High School
Johnston French

Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology
Soren Christensen
Max Judish
Dylan Klapper
Sarkis Ter Martirosyan

* TJHSST is a Governor’s School for Science and Technology located in Fairfax County. The school serves students in Arlington, Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, and Prince William counties as well as the cities of Fairfax and Falls Church. APS pays the tuition costs for students who attend the school.

The $2,500 scholarship awards are supported by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation’s own funds. There are 2,500 students from around the country who will receive similar recognition. Scholarship winners were chosen from approximately 16,000 finalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. Finalists from each state were judged by a combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies. They were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors.

This year’s competition for National Merit Scholarships began in October 2016 when more than 1.6 million juniors in over 22,000 high schools took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Last fall, the highest-scoring participants in each state were named semifinalists.