APS News Release

APS Teachers Selected for Kennedy Center Changing Education Through the Arts Cohort 2021-22

A group of 21 educators will join the third APS Cohort with the John F. Kennedy Center. The Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and Arlington Public Schools are members of the Kennedy Center’s Partners in Education program and Changing Education Through the Arts (CETA).

These teachers were elected because of their commitment to the improvement of education in and through the arts. This year’s APS Cohort will have five schools with cross content teams of four-five teachers that will participate in collaborative efforts to make the arts integral to education. Beginning in the 2016-17 school year, APS and the Kennedy Center formed their first cohort of 30 teachers to achieve the Kennedy Center CETA (Changing Education Through the Arts) Certificate of Study. 

The certificate is an ongoing recognition program for teachers who participate in the Kennedy Center’s professional learning. The following teachers were selected for the Kennedy Center Cohort III and will participate in a minimum of 21 hours of professional learning through the CETA program in order to explore ways to bring the arts into their classroom. In addition, they develop and submit documentation that shows evidence of the impact of the arts on student learning. 

Alice West Fleet Elementary School
Ashley Snyder and George Braeden

Barrett Elementary School
Martha Miranda, Amanda Thiel, Allison Platz, Ashley Hollander and Jacqueline Laurell 

Carlin Springs Elementary School
Dani Hall, Sarah Sanders, Holly Nisco and Katelyn Kyser 

Hoffman-Boston Elementary School
Zachary Martini, Jennifer Walter, Kris Pflaging and Dalila Cresswell Marquez 

Jamestown Elementary School
Laurie Clark, Mary Gaynor and Amy Blaine  

Tuckahoe Elementary School
Kristin Brynsvold, Alexis Marsella and Rochelle Proctor