Item C-1-d

ARLINGTON PUBLIC SCHOOLS

Closed Meeting and School Board Work Session on Transportation January 22, 2019

The Arlington School Board convened on Tuesday, January 22, 2019, at 6:02 PM at 2110 Washington Blvd., Arlington, Virginia.

Present were:

Reid Goldstein, Chair
Tannia Talento, Vice Chair
Barbara Kanninen, Member (participated electronically from home in Arlington, VA until 7:12
PM)
Monique O'Grady, Member
Nancy Van Doren, Member
Claudia Mercado, Deputy Clerk

A. CALL TO ORDER AND CLOSED MEETING

Mr. Goldstein moved that the Board immediately convene in a closed meeting to consider the acquisition of real property for a public purpose where discussion in an open meeting would adversely affect the bargaining position or negotiating strategy of the public body, as authorized by Virginia Code §2.2-3711(A)(3), seconded by Ms. Talento. The motion was adopted in a vote of 4 - 0, with Mr. Goldstein, Ms. O'Grady, Ms. Talento, and Ms. Van Doren voting affirmatively. Dr. Kanninen, was not present at the vote.

The closed meeting adjourned at 6:53 PM, and the Board reconvened in an open meeting.

Mr. Goldstein moved to certify that to the best of his knowledge only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements by Virginia law were discussed in the closed meeting and only such public business matters that were identified in the motion convening the closed meeting were heard, discussed or considered. The motion was seconded by Ms. O'Grady and was adopted in a vote of 5 – 0. The voting record is as follows: Mr. Goldstein – Aye; Dr. Kanninen – Aye; Ms. O'Grady – Aye; Ms. Talento – Aye; and Ms. Van Doren – Aye.

The Board reconvened in a work session at 7:05 PM.

Also present were:

Dr. Patrick K. Murphy, Superintendent (arrived at 7:26 PM)
John Armstrong, Chair, Advisory Committee on Transportation Choices
John Chadwick, Assistant Superintendent, Facilities and Operations
Greg Emanuel, Director, Arlington County Environmental Services
Erik Gutshall, Member, Arlington County Board
Kristin Haldeman, Director, Multimodal Transportation Planning
Dennis Leach, Deputy Director, Arlington County Transportation

Leslie Peterson, Assistant Superintendent, Finance and Management Deriba Reba, Routing Coordinator, Transportation Services Lynn Rivers, Chief, Arlington County Transit Bureau Heather Rothenbuescher, Supervisor, Special Education Programs Lisa Stengle, Executive Director, Planning and Evaluation Kim Wilks, Acting Director, Transportation Services

Mr. Goldstein began the Work Session on Transportation stating the agenda objectives which included conversations around student transportation efficiencies, budget implications, and operational goals through policy changes and revisions.

Ms. Haldeman presented the Board with an overview of Transportation Services at APS and operational goals to achieve efficiency. She shared on-going challenges and reviewed Policy and Policy Implementation Procedure E-5.1 Transportation and areas to be considered for revision. She spoke about how other school districts are managing transportation demands, addressed improving accommodations for special needs students, and shared about the APS/Arlington Transit Pilot Project. Ms. Haldeman also presented recommended strategies to address goals and priorities. Mr. Leach and Ms. Lynn briefly spoke about Arlington transit services and the County's partnership with schools. Mr. Gutshall shared his appreciation for the collaboration taking place between APS and Arlington County in finding efficiencies and improvement of transportation choices.

The Board requested that the Transportation 101 presentation be posted on the APS website for community review. Board members discussed the importance of on-time bus services, transit options for high school students, strategically meeting the needs of special needs students, bus route logistics and bell times, and County collaboration.

ADJOURNMENT

| The meeting adjourned at 9:17 PM. | |
|-----------------------------------|------------------------|
| ATTEST: | |
| _ | |
| Claudia Mercado, Deputy Clerk | Reid Goldstein, Chair |
| Arlington School Board | Arlington School Board |