APS News Release

Washington-Lee High School Education Foundation Awards Record 32 Renewal Scholarships and Two Faculty Fellowships

The Washington-Lee Education Foundation awarded 32 scholarship renewals to former W-L students who are currently in college. This is the most renewals the Foundation has ever awarded in a single year since it was established 20 years ago.  Each renewal scholarship is for $1,000.

Additionally, the W-L Foundation awarded two faculty fellowships to W-L teachers Hiromi Isobe and Jacqueline Stallworth.  Isobe (Art) and Stallworth (English) are each attending unique professional development activities out of the area this summer, which they anticipate will enhance and enrich their teaching next fall.

The 32 students awarded renewal scholarships and the colleges they attend are:  Ibad Adhi, Virginia Commonwealth University; Haziel Andrade Ayala, Virginia Commonwealth University; Emnet Atlabachew, Johns Hopkins University; Lydia Cawley, Harvard University; Nicholas Conklu, College of the Holy Cross; Ashley Euceda-Mendoza, George Mason University; Rebeckah Fussell, Haverford College; Rita Hagos, College of William and Mary; Jasmine Ben Hamed, American University; Arielle Hogan, University of Virginia; Rida Hussain, George Mason University; Hojin Kim, George Mason University; Justin McMahan, Harvard University; Geovanny Morales, Dartmouth College; Amanda Oh, Southern Methodist University; Ana Ortiz, Virginia Commonwealth University; Samuel Phelan, New York University; Hailey Ramsey, College of William and Mary; Emily Reed, Barnard College; Eleanor Ridgeway, Georgia Tech; Elisabeth Rios-Brooks, University of Florida; Dylan Schuler, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Mackenzie Scurka, Dartmouth College; Rebecca Spraggins, Syracuse University; Heaven Swinson, Virginia Tech; Shawal Tariq, George Mason University; Uuganzul Tumurbaatar, Dartmouth College; Sasha Volodin, Carnegie Mellon University; Diana Voronina, Virginia Commonwealth University; Alexandra Webster, Tufts University; Aishan Yakefujiang, Virginia Tech; and Haben Yosief, Virginia Commonwealth University.

For more information, contact Dede Macekura at wlhsfoundation@gmail.com.