APS News Release

Virginia Junior Academy of Science Winners

Virginia Junior Academy of ScienceAlmost 100 APS students were selected to present their scientific work at the 2021 Virginia Junior Academy of Science (VJAS) Symposium, which was held virtually through William and Mary. VJAS, sponsored by the Virginia Academy of Science (VAS), encourages students in grades 7-12 to enter scientific research investigations in competition for awards at the annual VJAS Research Symposium to foster encouragement for students to continue their education in science, engineering, and related fields. The full list of awardees, as well as additional information about the organization and competition, can be found on the VJAS website, www.vjas.org.

Congratulations to all students who presented!The following students received awards in their sections, with some earning special awards and honors.

First Place
Ophelia Tulchinsky (Dorothy Hamm): Chemical Sciences
Julia Brodsky (H.B. Woodlawn): Chemistry A
Zara Musa (Williamsburg): Human Behavior
Henry Stievater (Swanson): Mathematics: Patterns & Relationships
Dorothy Hwang & Theodore Hwang (Gunston): Physical Science & Astronomy
Sam Watchman (Arlington Tech): Physics and Astronomy
Ambica Sharma (W-L): Statistical Analysis & Inferences

Second Place
Julie Marco & Daisy Maxwell (Swanson): Chemical Sciences
Dylan Tallis (Jefferson): Ecology & Earth Sciences
Krish Gupta (Swanson): Engineering & Technology
Harriet Shapiro (W-L): Environmental & Earth Science D
Adam Stievater (W-L): Environmental & Earth Science E
Malek Ben Hammouda (W-L): Medicine & Health A
Ella Cohen (W-L): Microbiology & Cell Biology A

Third Place
Matthew Huson (W-L): Botany A
Nadia Lach-Hab (Dorothy Hamm): Ecology & Earth Sciences
Thomas Ackleson (W-L): Environmental & Earth Science A
Madison Goeke (W-L): Environmental & Earth Science B

Honorable Mention
Patrick Jiminez (Gunston): Animal & Human Sciences
Myra Clark (Williamsburg): Chemical Sciences
Alexander Thomas (Swanson): Chemical Sciences
Richard Chen (W-L): Chemistry A
Ramon Dayan (W-L): Chemistry A
Naomi Lindsay (Wakefield): Chemistry B
Emma Hemsch (Dorothy Hamm): Ecology & Earth Sciences
Anna Mohanty (Williamsburg): Ecology & Earth Sciences
Eyuel Berhanu (W-L): Engineering A
Jarin Earle (Jefferson): Engineering & Technology
Isla Wearmouth (Kenmore): Engineering & Technology
Isla Carlson (Wakefield): Environmental & Earth Science A
Lillian Moo (W-L): Environmental & Earth Science C
Ananya Sinha (Arlington Tech): Environmental & Earth Science D
Lanyi Stroud (Yorktown): Environmental & Earth Science E
Jacob Bayer (W-L): Medicine & Health A
Sarah Bolles & Lucy Anderson (W-L): Medicine & Health A
Maryam Eldgindy (W-L): Medicine & Health A
Lauren Rylander (W-L): Medicine & Health D
Jaya Shah (Williamsburg): Plant Sciences & Microbiology
Colin Berry (Yorktown): Statistical Analysis & Inferences

Special Awards and Honors
Julia Brodsky (H.B. Woodlawn) – Rodney C. Berry Chemistry Award
Charlotte Cunnigham (W-L) – 2021-2022 VJAS Officer, Vice-President
Ambica Sharma (W-L) – Statistics Award
Elizabeth Wood (Teacher, W-L) – Franklin D. Kizer Science Teacher of Tomorrow Award