APS News Release

Northern Virginia Regional Science and Engineering Fair Winners Named

Over the past few weeks, young scientists from the area had a chance to showcase their projects in the 67th Northern Virginia Regional Science and Engineer Fair. The competition was conducted virtually this year.  Scientists and engineers representing 10 subject categories, as well as numerous organizations and societies, reviewed the students’ presentation videos, presentation slides, summary charts, abstracts, and research papers. This year’s winners, which include students from APS middle and high schools, were announced on April 7.

The following are the 1st Place awardees, who will also compete in the Virginia State Science and Engineering Fair (VSSEF). This year’s VSSEF competition, originally slated to be held in Roanoke, Virginia, will also be conducted virtually.

Animal Sciences – 1st place
Cecilia Berger – Washington-Liberty 

Behavioral and Social Sciences- 1st Place
Colin Berry – Yorktown 

Chemistry- 1st Place
Julia Brodsky – H-B Woodlawn
Joanna Wahl – Wakefield 

Engineering– 1st Place
Colin Sartori- Yorktown 

Environmental and Earth Sciences- 1st Place
Madi Goeke- Washington-Liberty
James Licato- Washington-Liberty 

Mathematics and Computer Science- 1st Place
Ambica Sharma – Washington-Liberty 

Physics and Astronomy- 1st Place
Maya Kaminski – Washington-Liberty
Sam Watchman – Arlington Tech
Angelica Bain – Washington-Liberty

Plant Sciences – 1st Place
Teo Huson – Washington-Liberty

2021 Broadcom MASTERS Nominees – Broadcom MASTERS is a national, Math, Science, Engineering, and Technology competition for students in Grades 6-8. (Sponsored by Science for Society and the Public, students will compete online against other students from across the U.S.)

  • Melissa Lau – Gunston
  • Henry Vogel – H-B Woodlawn
  • Arhan Menta – Williamsburg
  • Peter Akay – Williamsburg
  • Kate Floom – Williamsburg
  • Evan Oberkirsch – Gunston
  • Nadia Lach-Hab – Dorothy Hamm
  • Charlotte Minnigh – Williamsburg
  • Anna Mohanty – Williamsburg
  • Amelia Waldman – Williamsburg
  • Henry Stievater – Swanson
  • Theodore Hwang & Dorothy Hwang – Gunston
  • Alexander Thomas – Swanson
  • Sonia Bass & Ally Bass – Swanson
  • Jaya Shah – Williamsburg

Grand Prize Awardee
James Licato- Washington-Liberty; Development of a Zeolite Composite Material for the Simultaneous Removal of Pharmaceuticals, Personal Care Products (PPCPs), and Perfluorinated Alkyl Substances (PFAS) in Water Treatment

A complete list of the Category and Society Organization winners is available online.